Monday; Moths

Today, I:

– finished a class (Acting II; we performed our group scenes);

– got some good news regarding my internship prospects (I should be able to make a decision by the end of the week);

– went to Costco to load up on fruits and veggies.

All in all, a good day. Excluding the Mothpocalypse, of course.

Albuquerque has been invaded by moths. There is currently one sitting on the wall in our hallway; I have to sneak past every time for fear of disturbing it and causing it to fly into our apartment. If that ever happened, I would not be able to rest until it was dead.

Have I mentioned that moths are one of my least favorite insects?

Jordan and I have not-so-endearingly termed this plague the Mothpocalypse. Twice in two days last week one got into my car, nearly resulting in a fiery death-by-car crash because it waited to fly in my face until I was driving down a busy street. How would I explain that if it actually caused an accident? “Sorry, officer. You see, there was this moth…”

I counted at least ten dead ones on the floor of one of our building’s stairwells. There are also at least two caught on the second and third floor landings in the stairwell on our side of the building, flitting around the exposed light bulbs.

Moths are gross. Moths are a nuisance. Moths are neurotic. Supposedly, they’ll be migrating out of town in a couple of weeks. Until then, I don’t dare open my car door until I’ve checked the local airspace for fluttering brown blurs.

Leave a Reply

