Luddites irritate me

The next time somebody tells me that they “don’t do email”, I may respond with this brilliant passage from George Landow’s book “Hypertext”:

One such operation that I have frequently encountered after talks on educational hypertext takes the form of a statement something like “I am a Luddite” or “What you say is very interesting, but I can’t use (or teach with) computers, because I’m a Luddite.” (Can you imagine the following? “I can’t use lead pencils – ballpoint pens – typewriters – printed books – photocopies – library catalogues because I’m a Luddite.”) All the self-proclaimed Luddites in academe turn out to oppose only the newest machines, not machines in general and certainly not machines that obviate human drudgery. – “Hypertext”, p. 168

Leave a Reply

