Today

It’s been a pretty good day so far. I intended to get up at 8:00, but I guess the roughly 6 hours of sleep I got the night before didn’t cut it, because I slept until almost 9:00. It was a good sleep, though; I fell asleep shortly after lying down, and didn’t wake up once during the night. I even deviated from one of my worst habits by making the bed. It’s incredible how much of a difference a nicely made bed makes, both aesthetically and psychologically.

I ran a mile, put some more money on our laundry card (but unfortunately did not have time to do laundry), ate breakfast, and drove to the Toyota dealership to get my car serviced. Jordan has been telling me that I need to get my brakes fixed, and the Toyota guys agreed. Routine maintenance took an hour and a half, and I didn’t have time to wait another two hours to get my brakes done, so I’m planning on returning tomorrow.

Next, I got a long-needed car wash and vacuum. Another horrible habit of mine is to procrastinate on cleaning my car. Things tend to pile up: food containers, pens, random items of clothing, books, receipts. But twenty minutes and eight dollars later, my car looks good as new!

I stopped at CVS on my way home to get a few miscellanous items: toilet paper, toothpaste, paper towels, shampoo.

Now I’m in for roughly four more hours at work, and then I’ll head home and probably do some more reading for my thesis after dinner. It feels good to get things done.

Leave a Reply

