Little Summer Goals

I have two goals right now, both regarding our apartment’s spacious balcony:

1. I want to find us a nice, fairly inexpensive bistro table and chairs set so we can start eating outside and enjoying the view. I mentioned this in my last post, but internet searches have been less than helpful; most new/like new sets are upwards of $200 or $300. If you have any suggestions on where to look, I’m open to them!

2. I want to start (and maintain) an herb garden. Now, I’ve had some less-than-inspiring experience maintaining plants in the past; not long ago, I begged Jordan to get a potted flower at Trader Joe’s, and about two weeks later it was dry and drooping on our dining room table. We also bought a leafy, potted basil, but we both forgot to water it, so it went the way of the dinosaur. But! I believe I will enjoy the task of caring for my very own little herbs, and the promise of fresh-from-the-garden taste will hopefully keep me going. It will also be a reason to get outside, which is what summer’s all about, isn’t it?

Unfortunately, I’m working all day today – literally. From 9:00am-9:00pm, I’m stuck inside, and I’ll likely be exhausted by the time I get home. I’d love to spend a couple of hours this afternoon collecting seed packets and containers for a balcony garden at the local nursery, but it will have to wait until tomorrow. At least I can continue online-shopping for that bistro set.

Leave a Reply

