Sabbath

Yesterday, for the first time this semester, I came as close as I’ve ever come to having the entire day off from schoolwork on a Sunday.

I’ve had friends explore the meaning of the Sabbath as a day of rest, and the notion was incredibly appealing. I’ve gotten advice from more than one person regarding the benefits of taking an entire day off each week. This semester, I’ve been trying for it. It’s been difficult; by the time Friday night rolls around, I’m exhausted, and the last thing I feel like doing is forcing myself to stay up for a couple of extra hours to keep chipping away at my studies. I used to work Saturday mornings, so the first half of my Saturday – hours I could devote to getting work done – was eaten up.

This semester, though, my work schedule has changed, and I now have Saturdays free. I try to let myself sleep in just a tad, since it’s the only day of the week I can, but then I commit myself to working. Well, that’s what I’ve attempted, at least. I often find that it’s easy to sleep in, take time making and eating breakfast, and watch a video online with Jordan, so that before I know it it’s one o’clock and I haven’t started my homework yet.

This past Saturday, however, I managed to get a lot done. I made some decent headway on a big project for one of my classes, I finished a take-home test that’s due today, and I got most of my reading done for Literary Analysis. I was working from about three o’clock to almost eleven, but it was worth it.

Sunday, we went to church and then out to lunch with my two brothers and sister-in-law to celebrate her and Jordan’s birthdays, which are both in February. Afterward, we went to a different restaurant for dessert, and I wasn’t stressed out about a looming pile of work to do when we were finished. We got home around three, and I worked for about an hour and a half while Jordan and my brother (the non-married one) chatted and smoked their pipes on the balcony.

I think a large part of my success on Sunday was my effort to limit myself. I didn’t want to spend an undefined amount of time working, because then I would end up working the entire rest of the day. I could have taken more careful notes on my reading; I could have done more work on my honors project; I could have gotten ahead on my math homework. But when the allotted time had ended, I closed my books, and instead of spending Sunday evening at my desk Jordan and I went out to see a movie. It was wonderful; we don’t have a lot of free time together during the week, let alone time to go out, and I knew I wanted to spend our time Sunday evening doing something together, just us.

On the way back from the movie, I asked Jordan to remind me of how happy I felt the next time I didn’t want to do homework on a Saturday. It was entirely worth it.

Leave a Reply

