Late Nights

On Mondays, I have class all morning and work all afternoon and evening. Needless to say, I’m usually pretty beat when I get home. However, I wasn’t quite prepared for the wave of exhaustion that crashed over me as soon as I sank into one of our cushy couches tonight around 9:30, after I’d gotten off of work and we had just come back from grocery shopping (because the only food we had for dinner was a giant box of frozen orange chicken from Costco).

I fell asleep on Jordan’s shoulder as he proofread the cover letter of an internship application I submitted not long ago. Last semester, my brother told me about the internship program at Lucasfilm (as in, George Lucas); at first I brushed it off, assuming internships would only be for tech-savvy/game design/film students. It turns out, though, that they offer a Production Internship: organizing, planning, managing projects, communicating well, working on a laptop (to offer a general skim-over). I figured, I could probably do that. So I got all my materials together (cover letter, resume, academic transcripts, writing samples, letters of recommendation) and submitted everything online earlier this evening.

I’m actually feeling semi-confident about it. I figure that the worse that can happen is I don’t get it, and then I can apply again the following year with even more experience and at least one other internship under my belt.

As happy as I am that that is finally done, I’m still pretty wiped; I made it through the somewhere between 11:00pm and 12:30am I-can-barely-keep-my-eyes-open stage and am now in the I-feel-more-alert-but-deep-down-I-need-sleep stage. I’ve still got a little work to finish for the morning, and then: bed.

Leave a Reply

