Morning Thoughts

I am such a procrastinator. Although, I think everyone is. Why is it that it’s so hard to get ourselves to do the things that need to be done? Is it our fallen nature? If everything in the universe tends toward disorder, it seems that human beings are no exception.

We’re getting ready to move in just under two weeks. I’m pretty excited; our place right now is alright, and while it will always hold some special memories of being our “first place”, I’m ready to re-vamp and get into our new apartment. This morning Jordan got up early to go substitute teach, and I slept for a couple more hours. When I got up, I wasted an hour and a half playing around on the computer and taking my time with breakfast. I’m coming out of a five-day weekend (fall break plus yesterday; I didn’t go to school so I could help Jordan pack some things and get ready for our photo shoot that afternoon), and it’s taking me a while to get back into the swing of things. I finally got it together and started mentally preparing myself for getting back into academics: writing to-do lists, thinking about what I need to get done this week, and texting one of the people in my technical writing group about an assignment due on Thursday.

After that, I devoted about an our to tidying up. We’re having company tomorrow evening, and I realized that we need to get it together and get our place cleaned up and cleaned out. I decided to focus on clothing, since we seem to have a lot; I packed up two boxes worth of my own clothes and sorted two other piles into “don’t want/give away” and “don’t want to pack”. Then I put on a load of laundry, and now I’m about to have lunch and get ready to go to school.

Since I’ve mentioned our photos a couple of times, I want to talk about our shoot yesterday. I tried my best to remember to have good posture (it’s become a pet peeve of mine and I am constantly scrutinizing myself, for better or for worse), but mostly Jordan and I just had fun. We met our photographer in downtown Albuquerque, and we walked around for about an hour and half. He posed us for some more editorial shots, got some candids, and there are sure to be several romantic photos with lots of kissing. I realized that when you’re doing “couple” photos, it’s hard to know how to do anything else except kiss. It feels natural because you’re with someone you love, but it also felt a bit excessive. I think we’ll get a good variety of photos, though. It was a beautiful, cool, partly cloudy afternoon, and I loved the urban setting.

Well, I’ve only got about half an hour before I have to leave, so I’m going to sign off now and eat my lunch, which is comprised of ramen and orange juice. It’s hard to really cook for myself when Jordan’s not around to eat with me; I usually opt for something quick and easy, even if not necessarily healthy. Oh well. I am a college student, right?

One thought on “Morning Thoughts

Leave a Reply

