Fall Break

This weekend, we got an extra two days off of school for fall break. Last week marked the halfway point of the semester, and I can’t believe there’s only eight weeks to go! The leaves are finally more yellow than green, the air is cool and crisp as the fuji apple I’m eating right now, and Christmas feels right around the corner.

It’s been a pretty busy fall break for me. Thursday was my only real day off. In the morning, Jordan and I went down to church and I had my first confession with Father Conan. I was pretty nervous, but he was very kind and it was actually rather beautiful, and very liturgical. After that, we took Father Conan, his wife, Presbytera Stephanie, and their little baby Nicholas on a tour of Albuquerque. They want to get to know the neighborhoods so they can decide where to buy a home. We went all the way from the university to the foothills of the mountains in the east to the river in the west. I love going down by the Rio Grande; the giant cottonwood trees stretch their thick, dark arms in all directions, looking almost unnaturally bent. I told Jordan that I wanted to go down to the river and take a walk along one of the many tree-lined dirt paths.

We got home, took a nap, and Jordan had work that afternoon but I didn’t; I did a little cleaning and relaxing around the apartment, then went to get my haircut. I knew I wanted it short again, and it had gotten a little longer than I like, but now I’m worried I cut it too short. We’re having some pictures taken tomorrow in an after session that was part of our wedding photography package. I hope they turn out well!

We got a few boxes packed this weekend (mostly books and dishes) in an effort to start getting ready to move. I realized that we have a lot of work to do in the next couple of weeks, but I am looking forward to getting into our new new place.

Yesterday I worked in the morning, got a pedicure, then went to Target with my friend Sarah where I got a few pairs of tights, two pairs of jeans and a couple of little makeup things. I finished off two gift cards that we were given for our wedding, and still had to pay some. I have to admit that I’ve got a little bit of buyer’s remorse, just because I don’t like spending so much in one trip. But I’m pretty sure they’re all things that I’ll be using/wearing for a while.

Last night we went first to Buffalo Wild Wings to see David and his housemate, and then over to Chili’s to see our friend Amanda who was visiting from out of town. It was great seeing everybody, but by the time we got the check, I felt like I could fall asleep at the table.

Today I’m looking forward to our couple’s massage that I scheduled for us after I get off work (oh yeah; I’m working on a Sunday – lame! I had to miss church this morning). Some of my girlfriends bought us a giftcard to a spa here in town and we’re going to get our long-awaited massage this afternoon. After that, we’re going out to eat again for my brother David’s birthday. Then hopefully we can get a good night’s sleep so we’re refreshed for our photos tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

