A Bit of Background Info

I feel like I should give a little explanation for the title of my blog, (1) to prevent any confusion, (2) to avoid being given credit for phrases that are not my own, and (3) to give you, my lovely readers, a fun bit of movie trivia!

The title, “Nothing of Any Great Consequence”, is taken from the film “Finding Neverland”. I LOVE this film; a beautiful story, fantastic acting (especially since one of the main actors was, what, eleven at the time?), and quietly heartbreaking. It rallies for the value of imagination, and reminds adults to not lose sight of or devalue the wonders of childhood. I think I’ve written about this before in my old theatre blog, if you want to go hunting.

Even as a young adult, I feel somewhat disconnected from children. I’m never sure how to interact with them, or if I’m treating them like too much of a child. The film, which dramatizes J.M. Barrie’s relationship with the family that inspired “Peter Pan”, certainly respects children. Barrie’s character, played by Johnny Depp, plays make-believe with the children, and together they invent spectacular worlds within this “real” world that most adults, including Barrie’s wife, don’t seem to understand as anything more than childish games.

Barrie’s struggle throughout the film is to write a successful play; the opening scene tells us that his previous works have consistently flopped. With this task, he is often seen writing in his notebook, and his imaginative exploits seem to be evidence of his creative ability that he seems to have trouble putting into written words.

In one scene, Barrie is sitting in the park, writing. One of the children, Peter (J.M. Barrie, a boy named Peter – see the inspiration?), comes up to him and asks what he is writing. Barrie looks up and responds,
“Oh, nothing of any great consequence.”

Since the first time I saw that film, that line has been embedded in my mind, and I cannot think of the movie without hearing Johnny Depp repeat it.

The subtitle is also taken from a film, but I guess it would be more accurate to say that it was taken from a play – “The Importance of Being Earnest”, by Oscar Wilde. Who doesn’t love this play? The line is one of Cecily’s, and it also pertains to writing and journaling. To draw another parallel, the film version portrays Cecily as having a vivid imagination that is somewhat suppressed by her strict, Victorian surroundings. The dialogue goes like this:

Algernon: Do you really keep a diary? I’d give anything to read it. May I?

Cecily: Oh no. You see, it is simply a very young girl’s record of her own thoughts and impressions, consequently meant for publication. (There’s that famous, turn-the-world-upside-down Wilde wit)

When it all boils down, I suppose I chose these lines as the title of my blog because they both have to do with writing and imagination; and I couldn’t really pass up the opportunity to use such a wonderfully crafted line as Cecily’s to describe my writing.

Also, they just make me smile.

Leave a Reply

